Task Pigeon is built to be a straight-forward task management tool for individuals and teams. That said, there are often times where you need to keep details of a task or project restricted to just a subset of your team. In this edition of the Getting Started With Task Pigeon Series, we look at how to create Private Categories and Sub-Categories in Task Pigeon.
Private Categories can be great for:
- Agencies/businesses who work with external clients and want to create an independent workspace for each client.
- Categories or areas of your business that you don’t want to share with your entire team. For example finance or human resources
- Creating a private workspace. In this instance, you could create a Private Category to keep all of your private tasks together and only visible to yourself.
If you don’t want to create a private category and only need to restrict access to one or two tasks then you can also create private tasks in Task Pigeon.
Creating A Private Category
Creating a private category starts much the same way as a normal category. Using the left-hand menu you need to click the “+ New Category Button”.
Once you start creating a new category you will see the option to tick the “Make Category Private” box. This will then open a window to allow you to select what users can see and interact with that category.
Once a category is marked private only the users assigned to that category will be able to see the category name and all of the tasks within it.
Creating A Private Category – Video Walk Through
Prefer to view a video? Here we look at how to create a private category in Task Pigeon.
Creating A Private Sub-Category
When you add a sub-category to an existing Private Category it too is automatically made private. The same users who can view the parent category will also be able to see the sub-category.
You can, however, edit the sub-category to restrict who can see it further. For example say the parent category is marked private and can be viewed by:
- Person A
- Person B
- Person C
You could edit the sub-category so that only Person A and Person C can see/interact with it and the tasks contained within it.